Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the measures to demoralize smoking. While some people believe smoking in public should be banned, others believe more should be done. I believe that the first is not adequate and the government should step in to tackle the problem. On the one hand, making some laws against public smoking can be a good scheme to prevent it. It is apparent that smokers these days are freely smoking in the eyes of the public without being restricted by laws. This trend may result in dangerous consequences. For example, smoking in a restaurant where young people and children are present conveys that this is a normal and accepted trait so it will reduce the negative connotation of smoking. In addition, the smell of cigarettes is really annoying and makes some people feel bad. As a result, smoking in public will add more smokers and the country will face various threats including unhealthy lifestyles and a growing number of ill people which will put too much pressure on the public health system as well as the insurance. On the other hand, restricting public smoking will not reduce the number of cigarette users, it will just hide the issue from the public eye. That is, more government regulation against smoking will be beneficial. The government can levy hefty taxes on the cigarette for both users and producers and use the income to support the health insurance. Another law could be cutting the supportive social health schemes for smoking-related illnesses. What I am arguing is that the government should make stringent laws against smoking and make it really pricey to prevent it. In conclusion, it is a good plan to prevent public smoking, but it seems to me that more preventive laws by the government are much more desirable.