Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Tertiary education plays a significant role in professional growth of a person. Many believe that university education only helps in securing a better job while some oppose this ideology, instead consider university a hub for other learning opportunities. I, however, believe the later idea of student not only earning a degree for job also gaining other needed skills to thrive in a society. On the one hand, the primary aim of a university is to provide students with a degree to get a job. Professors design curriculums, workshops, tutorials, and research work for students to learn, how the corporate world works. In fact, the whole coursework is formulated for students to prepare them for the jobs, nevertheless, it doesn’t confirm obtaining a job after graduating. However, students are ready to apply for any opportunity that comes their way as almost all recruiters demand a degree to qualify for the post. For instance, minimum eligibility criteria for 85% of the LinkedIn job postings from big companies require a bachelor’s degree. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that a university also help students grow in their full potential. It focuses on developing other important skills to survive in market, society and on personal level. Such as soft skills like communication, confidence, teamwork, leadership, empathy, delegation, planning and many more are the key for successfully securing a job. For example, in interviews these skills carry weightage of 40% and to analyze, special tests are conducted. Secondly, universities organize different societies for students to cherish their hidden talents and involve in social work. These things leave an ever-lasting impact on the person’s personality and around. To conclude, there are people with the belief where university is mere a place for obtaining degrees for a better job while others believe in the bigger picture where university is more than education. I do agree to the part where university is also focused for personal, professional and societal growth and development.