In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently more people tend to buy their needs such as groceries, garments, appliances, and so on, from grand shopping malls. The consequence of their desire to this kind of shopping has been presented with closure of more local small stores day by day. In this letter I argue the negative aspects of this development for, before turning to the positive ones and I believe the positive aspects are more significant than negatives. In some individual's mind, the closure of local shops appears with gross changes in society. In other words, their claim is the positions of owners turned to employee. However, these changes may assume positive in first impression, we should not forget the fact that the existing of small shops create competition among service providers, which usually tailored to the needs of consumers. For example, in the past local shops, due to their owner’s authority, place some discount to draw more attention to their business. Needless to say, the change in folk's position from employer to employee take their power to control the prices and this change ended to higher costs for costumers. In the flip side, by developing more shopping malls, the opportunities for more entertainment besides shopping are provided. Moreover, most of the shopping malls have been equipped with different facilities, playground for kids, cinemas, and so on, to impact on consumer’s wellbeing besides shopping. Furthermore, shopping in huge malls would be helpful to waste fewer time on shopping. They usually contain different variety of stores from groceries to different brands of attires, which help every individual to buys all the stuffs without commute between several locations. In addition, these malls are spring up with lots of new career for society. In conclusion, although the development of big shopping centers was affected lots of small local shops and anchors them to closure, I assume this development as a positive development from consumer's view.