Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Recently, some studies have shown that many youngsters nowadays choose to interact with each other online rather than in person. This situation could lead to various drawbacks that will be explained in this essay with the solutions to tackle this problem. To begin with, there are some adverse effects that emerge from this situation because in-person interactions are important for youngsters. Firstly, physical meetings are fundamental for the social development of young people. By having a real interaction, they could develop their emotions and learn how to regulate them. For instance, people who do online interactions that are mainly done through messages cannot feel the emotions of others. Therefore, they could face obstacles when they grow up, mainly when they enter the work environment. Additionally, they would have a social awkwardness when they need to socialise in person. We cannot deny that human, as social beings, still need to interact physically even though the world is now dominated by the use of the Internet and technology. The young ages are the perfect time for them to learn how to interact professionally or casually. If they spend too much time on social media, they could not develop that ability. Since the real interactions become important for youngsters, there are some measures must be taken to encourage them to have a physical meeting. One of the solutions that could be implemented is by having various positive communities around them. In a community, people who have the same interests could gather since young people prefer to socialise with people who have something in common with them, a community become a comfortable place for them to socialise. Moreover, parents at home and teachers at school can limit their exposure to gadgets. Limiting their exposure to gadgets means that they could not access their social media. Hence, they are forced to have a real conversation with their fellow peers. To sum up, this condition becomes a problem because it impacts on teenagers' development. There are some actions that could be taken, such as providing communities and restricting the use of phones.