The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that the increase of social platform has an impact on individual relationships and society as a whole. Despite having a positive impact on the way people interact, the writer contends that the disadvantages overshadow the advantages due to the lack of face-to-face conversation and an increase in Internet negativity. It must be acknowledged that social networks reduce the distance between people. This is because people have become accustomed to using utilities and amenities on social networks. However, this makes people become too dependent on them and forget the importance of face-to-face communication, resulting in an increase in solitary activities and a sense of isolation. Later, having a far-reaching consequence on community’s mental health because of depression and loneliness feeling. The prevalence of negativity on the Internet is another point worth considering. Due to the lack of control and freedom of speech on social networks, many negative and uncultured things appear on it such as cyberbullying, negative images and videos, misleading statements and status lines. As a result, more and more detrimental societal problems derive from this way of exchanging information when the government has no efficacious way to prevent this from happening. Take social media in Vietnam as a prime example; reactionaries use misinformation to incite people through social media. However, social media have an integral role to play in eliminating people ’s distance in the view of some people. To be more specific, using social networks, everyone can share and post the information they want to share, thereby increasing interaction between people. However, conflicting comments will appear and may cause negative things. In conclusion, while social media brings people closer, the drawbacks of this way of communicating outweigh the advantages as it makes way for the accretion of depression and hostile problems.