Nowadays, we are surround by advertising in our daily lives. Some people believe this has a positive effect on society. Others, however, say that it is a negative development. Discuss with both views and give your own opinion.

During our current life, we constantly interact with advertisements. Literally every aspect of our life is full of commercials, from watching TV to banners on trains while commuting. Some people consider this fact as beneficial for society, while others argue that such a trend is rather negative. In this essay, I attempt to discover both points of view and my own ideas. First of all, there is no doubt that advertising promotes the consumption of goods and, as a result, selling and, further by this chain, it causes an impact on the economy. A constantly growing economy leads to opening new workplaces, paying more taxes and stimulating technology development. For example, after successfull successfully promotion campaing out chain retail company opened 3 more branches in another city to serve an increased demand. All this together serves such goals as a more stable society with low levels of unemployment, high budgets for social support, free medicine and education, and, in addition, overall human development. On the other hand, people who oppose the widespread of ads argue that they increase consumerism, fast fashion and not sustainable ways of living. It has been well established in the scientific literature that the human brain reacts to visual stimuli and 80% of all information we get from sight, so constantly bombarding an individual with nice-looking and appealing pictures can lead him or her to raise a desire to have something, even though this is already the 5th new dress this month. It is hard to argue that this behaviour promotes overproduction, water and air pollution, and exhaustion of natural resources. In conclusion, there is an ongoing debate about advertising benefits and drawbacks. While some argue that more commercials can lead to multiple benefits caused by a growing economy, others bring arguments that it influences consumption patterns and leads to unsustainable ways of living. Although, I appreciate all the positive outcomes that get from promoting goods and services, I strongly believe that the problem of overconsumption has a tremendous impact on our environment and needs to be addressed as soon as possible.