Companies now prefer to hire people with good social skills as well as good academic qualifications. Do you think that social skills are now more important than educational qualifications?

Finding the best qualifications for companies to hire their employees has grown to be a pressing matter lately, and some companies contend that hiring people with excellent social skills and good academic aspects is a priority. Responding to the issue, I tend to believe that social skills play a more essential role than academic ones because social skills such as adaptability and resilience skills may have profound impact on employees’ productivity. The primary reason for prioritizing the social skills of candidates in a company's recruitment is their capability to adapt and resilience in various dynamics of working conditions. In other words, those social skills are highly needed in the real working situation as the employees will deal with various working conditions, such as different backgrounds of co-worker, high pressure on task’s goals, and supervisor’s expectations. If the employees have all this skill-set, they will have more focus on their work and less involvement in conflict situations with co-worker and supervisors. As a result, the working condition in the office will be ideal and conducive so it can boost employees’ productivity and company’s goals are easily achieved. For example, the Cloud 9 Company from the USA have a significant growth on their annual sales in 2021 and the managers claims that is because of the dedicated supporting team within the company that goes hand in hand in achieving Cloud 9’s targets. Hence, it is reasonable to assert that prioritizing social skills on company’s recruitment must be a preferable choice. The main doubt of this idea is probably the arguments that educational background is more important as the proof of people’s intelligence. However, it is often a myth than reality because academic background is more likely considered in the first phase of recruitment only as the consideration for companies to make sure that candidates’ background fit with the role. Moreover, companies will take into account the interview process that includes personality checking, social skills, resilience, and another soft skill. For Instance, some Indonesian companies clearly stated the percentages of recruitment valuations, and they set the percentage of 30% for administration phase which include academic background checking and the rest is for interview ones that will assess the social and soft- skills of the candidates. Therefore, although the academic aspect might be important in some aspect, overall, the portion of social skills is more significant. To conclude, considering the benefits of candidates’ social skills in working conditions, it is reasonable to claim that social skills are more important than the educational background.