Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While university students have been increasingly seen to have the desire of studying more subjects on top of their main ones, the objectors including their parents would like them to contribute their time and effort to only things that are parts of a qualification. Both sides have their own direction of looking at the phenomenom because this is the matter of individual priorities and preferences. As someone thinking it is better to let people have their chances to explore the world from studying different things they are interested in, I advocate the students ' wish in this case. With regard to the objectors' point of view, other than spending time on things not in the curriculum then getting distracted from the main path and performing poorly in academics, students should focus only on what required for their educational achievements. This is not something new related to conflicts between children and their guardians or even teachers because art classes and clubs after school such as painting, music and instruments or certain sports are conservatively seen as things for low academic performers that will not be successful later in life. For instance, in Asian countries like South Korea and China, students are supposed to stick to their school's literay-centric literacy-centric programs, the other subjects for recreation such as dance are discouraged until their graduate and first jobs. In contrast, university goers claim to know what they are doing and how their choices affect their lives. The reasons for their desire for more minor subjects are because of the mental balance or new discoveries found in different things they try especially when they are in their most energetic and curious phases of life. A related report in 2005 in Japan said that more interviewees, by 30%, admitted that they regret not trying new things and subjects other than their main courses in colleges since as they grew older, they did not only have time but also energy for them. I reckon this as a loss that people should avoid in their lives since there is nothing more important than figuring ourselves out through what we want to know besides what we must study to get qualifications as a back-up plan later on. In conclusion, it is all the matter of choice where young enthusiastic students want to save experiences and joy while the others want them to save time, money and even efforts. Both ways work for people that give credits to them, though I prefer students trialling their favourite subjects to find their own way and interest out of the mutual and primary ones where the majority has to go for them.