More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There are many advantages to arranging online business meetings. First, online meetings are one of the best ways to save money. When companies want a staff meeting, nobody has to travel and the meeting does not involve any travel costs. Also, there is no expensive fee for booking a venue. As well, employees do not have to spend money driving to these meetings. Second, meeting virtually is incredibly fast and thus saves time. In business time is a premium and these zoom meetings are fast and convenient. Meetings do not have to be held up waiting for late arrivals. Another positive attritube is that meetings can be international. Companies with business offices in different countries can schedule online meetings that can be attended by people from different countries. In the past, this would have been impossible and cost prohibitive. People would have had to book flights and hotels. However there are a few disadvantages to online meetings. First, employees cannot communicate as effectively. According to a recent study, from Harvard University, online meetings tend to be ineffective as people are distant and as such not paying attention. It was found that people in the same room makes for better discussions and with more involvement. Second, online meetings rely on computers and internet and both may have problems. The internet might not be a strong signal, with lagging being a major problem. Another problem is the fact that it may seem that someone is attending the meeting, but in fact their camera is off and they are not there or could be asleep. In conclusion, it is clear that online meetings have many advantages and are the way of the future. However, these meetings have their problems and are not perfect with several strong disadvantages.