Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is said that advertising play a significant role in our lives, impacts of which are completely unavoidable either positive or negative. In my book, advertising is no longer effective and even detrimental (harmful) although it is beneficial and will discuss my reasons below. On the one hand, advertising introduce available products without which many of them will be unheard of / remain unknown. In addition, it can lead public to be aware of advantages and drawbacks of those products. As a result, people can decide on what is exactly useful for them. Otherwise, without advertising, they always prefer to choose the things that they used to consume, actually depending on their previous information. On the other hand, others including me argue that advertising mislead public about products. In fact, there are lots of psychological issues that are considered in advertisements which grab public attention. For instance, in almost all of the advertisements, an unimportant quality, which is not as effective as it seems, is exaggerated. This feature is what that makes a product as a best-seller although anyone pay no attention if it is true or not. I believe honesty is a best policy and it is what is not considered is advertisements. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages for advertisements. Some said that it is useful as it increases their awareness about available products and their features. However, I believe the disadvantages of that far outweigh its benefits as it can cause people’s misleading. As a result, they may purchase impulsively which is based on psychological gimmick/ policy.