In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is rapid growth in the aging population around the globe. Although the old population is thought by some to be useful for society, other people consider that it can cause some issues with the unemployment rate. In my opinion, I think that the elderly can bring out more benefits for society compared to any drawbacks. One of the major benefits is that older people used to have more experience before, which is an opportunity to gain advice for young people. As the elderly’s living life before new technology has major changes in the world. For instance, many professors in the world’s classiest universities, who taught and educated many students, were extremely well-informed about their fields of study. Furthermore, it means that they have lived for a long time and have witnessed a variety of kinds of matters that teach them how to tackle problems. On the other hand, the main drawbacks are the rise in the population of citizens and unemployment. In addition, the student, who graduated from their school, cannot find jobs because the senior people are in positions at the company. For example, the number of jobless people in Singapore has significantly increased over time since the potential of older personnel is more advantageous to the manufacturer than younger people. Therefore, population growth affected the number of people finding jobs. In conclusion, weighing up both sides of the argument, I would say that the positive aspects of the high-experience elderly population in society outweigh any of the basic bad points, such as non-employment.