The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying that social media platforms have impacted our relationships and society. I contend that despite the risk of addiction, using social media for communication is more beneficial, due to its speed and the way it is used to spread news. The most advantageous factor of using social media to communicate is its speed. In other words, people living around the world can communicate with each other without any delays, as the internet transmits these messages at lightning speed and eliminates the tedious processes of conventional mail. For example, a doctor working in Vietnam can ask for their European colleague's help when they are stuck in a bind. Another point worth mentioning is how news agencies have used social media to spread news. What I mean is that more and more people are using social media as a news source, as they have millions of active users. For example, during the Turkish Coup, many Turks livestreamed live streamed it on the internet, giving valuable insight into the situation to journalists and the general public. However, some argue that the risk of addiction is too high. This is a credible point as social media have been proven to be highly addictive and comparable to drugs. But this can easily be solved by teaching people self control and being responsible for themselves. Taking everything into consideration, the effects of addiction are outweighed by the speed and enhanced awareness that social media provides. Therefore, using social media to communicate is more beneficial.