Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The are a lot of crimes which are committed by teenagers. Despite some people insist that youth must be punished differently in comparison with adults, I firmly believe that treatment should be equal. On the one side, young people who commit crimes are not able to understand the consequences of the actions they take. This is because they are not smart and educated enough. Strict punishment and long imprisonment influence them in a bad manner and deprive them of any possibility to recover and become normal citizens. Due to this most of them will become even more dangerous for society in a future. That is why equal punishment of youth and adults somebody seen as a controversial decision. On the other side, people who commit heavy crimes, even if they are not old enough must take complete responsibility for their actions. A person who was raped or killed suffered the same way no matter who made the crime. For instance, teenagers who shut down children in Texas schools must be punished as adults, otherwise, they will appear as a great threat to people. Thus, equal punishment is important for eliminating the crime rate. To sum up, despite juveniles not always realizing the consequences of what they do, it is obvious that equal treatment of old and young people helps to decrease crime levels because of the imprisonment of criminals and deprivation the normal society from them.