Studies have shown that many young children worry about their appearance. What are the reasons for this? What might best be done to reduce the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

According to various studies, minors are heavily worried about their appearance physically. In my opinion, this has a very negative impact on the child's mental and physical health. I believe there are many reasons for this study to be true. In the following paragraph, I will share my opinions on this cause. Firstly, In my opinion, social media platforms like Instagram or TikTok are one of the biggest culprits for the increase in insecurities among children. For instance, many influencers post their physical features publicly on social media, which is shared across the globe. This leads kids as small as 9-year-olds to start doubting their bodies. In addition, standards for these physical or facial features have been set up high by celebrities who receive plastic surgeries to enhance themselves and portray a fake image on platforms like Instagram. Furthermore, bullying at schools is one of the major factors of worries about appearances in teens. For example, students in most classrooms body shame their friends just as a joke. However, this joke could be taken into account by an individual who is bullied and causes serious mental health issues. Body shaming occurs due to so-called "beauty standards" set on the internet which therefore illustrates the connection between the introduction of such bars that are set due to social media. Reduction of this issue can be tough as teenagers are constantly exposed to the internet and hence these standards. However, spreading awareness about the topic of body-shaming or insecurities in educational institutions could be a positive start. Moreover, having a one-on-one conversation with kids that struggle a lot with body image could help treat this cause even more. In conclusion, as long as people aren't educated about this, it will get no better. Understanding children all around the world, and their opinions about their looks is the first step in treating this issue.