Nowadays many people prefer to shop in supermarket rather than small shops or local markets? Is this positive or negative for development? Discuss and give your opinion.

Modern convenience stores are scattered all over the region, which overpower the local market and traditional shops. This breakthrough is believed to bring many benefits to society, yet some people oppose this development. This essay will discuss the downsides of the public's behaviour towards shopping in supermarkets and why I side with the latter. Firstly, the traditional market is a huge source of income for lower-middle-income society and the availability of supermarkets potentially disrupts their livelihood. For example, a lot of traditional farmers cling to local markets to distribute their goods because big convenience stores are reluctant to cooperate with them. As a result, the booming trend of supermarkets threatens their ability to sell a large amount of fresh crops and products to buyers because of the ease that the supermarket offers. Hence, if this phenomenon continues, it will put small farmers and local store sellers' jobs in danger. Secondly, a wide variety of goods in modern markets can inflict a consumerism attitude among the public as they might end up buying things they do not really need. For example, convenience stores usually have skincare and clothes aisles among other things like food and cleaning products, which induce the need to buy those initially unwanted products because people casually walk past them and sightseeing, not to mention if there is an extra discount that tempts people to buy them. Consequently, the effortlessness of supermarket shopping indirectly leads to the intensification of capitalism and consumerism in society. In conclusion, the emerging modern facilities seem to have a lot of appeal in the public's eye, but if we look closely, they can cause so many underlying problems in the future, such as the endangered local shops and the glorification of consumerism attitude. Finally, it is our responsibility to be a wise consumer to keep the right balance between supermarket and traditional store utilization depending on our needs, as well as limiting the stuff to buy to avoid excessive consumption.