Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the development of technology is being used to check someone's activities and what they are going to say. Sometimes, they do not even realise if this is happening. Although there is a drawback to doing this, I believe that a benefit is still on top. On the one hand, one of the advantages of tracking people is for increasing security in order to keep people safe. This action can be used to remind them on the roads to wear helmets and not to do anything weird. For example, in Bandung, there is a monitor for checking bikers if they wear safety equipment or not. The checker will notice them and use a microphone so they will get reminded. As a result, recent news shown that there is a decreasing rate for people who usually do not wear it. On the other hand, there is a negative impact such as less confidence. If technology is used to notice someone on the roads where many people gathering in this place, it will make them feel uncomfortable and their confidence will decrease. Furthermore, their behaviours would lead them to not be brave. For instance, on social media, there was someone who shared the effects of that action. He said that he got bullied, and could not go to work. As a result, monitoring somebody is not always an excellent way. In conclusion, a positive impact of using security cameras is for looking at people to ensure they are safe, and the drawback is related to people's confidence. Personally, I think an advantage of technology outweighs the disadvantages.