The rise of social media has affected relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvangtages?

Social media can affect all types of relationships in both positive and negative ways. It can help people stay connected, but it not brings the feeling of face to face. This situation, although advantageous in certain aspects, is generally a detriment to true human communication in the long run. On the one hand, social media can help people stay connected to theirs loved, friends and family, especially when they are far away. In the other word, it will help boost connectivity between our relationship if people use it actively and people can tweak their privacy levels and share more personal information or pictures through individual or group messages. For instance, Instagram and Facebook are quick and convenient ways for long-distance loved ones to stay in touch. While it has made communication more convenient, it has also led to some negative effects. Furthermore, overuse of social media to communicate can lead to people downplaying the importance of face-to-face interaction on which true human relationships thrive. Additionally, it makes the increase of unrealistic feeling because you do not have any fact about someone thay you have met on social media. Nowadays, many young and reclusive users prefer living in a virtual world on social sites than engaging in real-life relationships. This may have serious mental effects, such as increased stress, anxiety and loneliness. In conclusion, social media has both positive and negative effects on communication. It is up to individuals to use social media in a way that enhances their communication skills and relationships with others.