Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an argument that centers on religion by which to be instructed in schools or to be prohibited. Even though teaching religion in educational institutions has its own benefits, in my opinion, I believe that it should be avoided. On the one hand, when students learn religion in their schools, it could offer several advantages to students. First and foremost, religious lessons provide them with valuable life wisdom like commitment, passion and patience, guiding them towards a desirable way. Additionally, based on these lessons, the educational community could become a more harmonious and cohesive society. Consequently, sharing the conviction for certain religion would enable both the school community and students to be more stable and accomplish what they want. This is why, for example, mission schools in South Korea are known for their ambience that students concentrate on studying and the high levels of academic achievement. On the other hand, I believe that imparting religious messages in schools could bring forth drawbacks. Essentially speaking, individuals have the rights to choose their religion. However, if schools teach religion, students cannot but to attend religious classes and they should take part in religious rituals, which means they didn’t embrace the chance to be exposed to various religion and decide their religion following their own wills. Secondly, when students encounter religious lessons in a compulsory way in schools, they could have grievances against certain religion, leading to harmful effects on society in the long term. Therefore, teaching religion to students in an obligatory way should be avoided. In conclusion, although mission schools have its own merits, in my point-of-view, I am still convinced that they could yield undesirable outcomes.