Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

For the past three decades, road congestions have been growing because of the escalation of car ownership. However, I think, the term of " one big traffic jam" is too exaggerated to be applied for the whole world, yet it is true that several governments are in charge to tackle certain traffic. Numerous cities have developed sufficient public transport for its residents with a satisfactory quality. It leads to the dwindling numbers of private car usage. Japan is one of the best example to support this stance. In this country, various options of public transportation exist. Bus and train operate collaboratively to aid the citizens in commuting from one place to another. State of the art payment system, ergonomic seat design, and decent safety manual are included in each type of transport. Hence, people are likely to choose this rather than using their own car. Consequently, the number of vehichle vehicle on the street has diminished significantly. This circumstance also generates the possibility of less car ownership and traffic jam. Hereby, I want to emphasize the notion that countless cities are on traffic crisis is too far stretched from the reality. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that many govenments are still needed to reduce people from buying cars to prevent traffic issues. The authority they have is the primary reason why the government is responsible. A novel enticing policy is essential to achieve a congestion-less road. For instance, Indonesia has imposed a novel reward scheme. Each public transportation transaction will be substituted for points. People can exchange it for discount or other appealing bonus such as a free travel ticket. Surprisingly, it works quite well and has lowered the car ownership number. An enforcement of a new rule will not work if there is no psychological consideration within it. The government must be creative to invent such policy. To sum up, it is not a proper statement to say that the whole world is a " one big traffic jam". Plenty of metropolitan towns have proved it wrong by establishing an integrated and adequate public transportation. On the other hand, the government also need to generate innovative rules to lessen people motivation in buying cars.