Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In modern society, it is common to see children using telephones all day long. For better or worse, this trend has already begun to affect them in certain aspects of life. The causes of this trend are manifold. One primary reason is that the absence of parental company, leading children to use smartphones excessively. Because of household livelihoods and career advancements, parents are increasingly occupied with heavy workloads. This leaves children with video games, streaming platforms, and social media as their companions. In some cases, parents may provide digital devices as rewards, out of a desire to keep their children entertained or to aviod conflicts. As a result, chilren who lack self-control and independence awareness are easily addictive to the fiction world that created by media. Another reason might be that today’s younger generation grow up with digital technology. The popularity of social media platforms such as Instagram, Tik-Tok, Snapchat, KakoTalk, has contributed to this trend. Smartphones are utilized to socialize with friends, get access to latest news, or fulfill immediate desires. In my opinion, the excessive use of smartphones is detrimental to children holistic development. For one thing, the excessive exposure to digital devices would pose a threat to physical health. The prolonged screen time, with a secondary lifestyle, not only damage their eye sight, but also increase the risk of chronic diseases like obesity and diabetes. For another, children are more likely to pay little attention to what they do. When kid are tend to be drawn by digital media without limitation, they will be unable to concentrate on their homework even usual life. In long term, their unhealthy lifestyle will hinder academic growth and personal relationships. To put it in a nustshell, parental negligence and digital environment are the main reasons. While the use of smartphones conductive to personal digital literacy and preparing them to be a technologically savvy, I believe that it takes a heavy toll on children overall development both physical and mental.