Many graduates want to start their first job in a big corporation. Many others prefer to work for a small company first. What are the different advantages in each decision?

There is a constant debate between graduates about their next steps in the work industry, and most of the time they have to choose between a big corporation or a small company. But what is the best option and what should they consider before choosing? After graduating, most of the former students, find their self in a position where their education does not match their work experience. That lack of experience usually leads to a difficult beginning as the requirements from the employers are high. Starting your journey in a big corporation has a lot of advantages when it comes to that. Entry-level positions with small to no requirements and a lot of training are most of the time the way to go. That, the newcomer has a lot of time to understand and learn this new job while there are plenty opportunities to upgrade his skills. Additionally, It is easier for the employee to be promoted in the years to come as companies, most of the time, have a clear schedule for that. On the other hand, if the graduate prefers to work for a small company, it is going to be more of a challenge. Smaller companies tend to be understaffed, leading to extra work that needs to be done by the staff that works there at that moment. Knowing that, new employees will have to develop a lot of new skills and learn a lot about their field of work in a shorter period as the company does not have the necessary time to train them and will need them onboard as soon as possible. Other than that, that kind of job leads to a better role in a company, such as a manager or a leader, in no time at all. This is because the employee had the opportunity to prove himself and was there from the start, helping in the overall growth. Ultimately it is a fact that both options have their pros and cons and the decision must be made based on the skills that already exist and the passion and love of each individual about their line of work.