Intelligence is the most important quality of leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

SAMPLE ANSWER It is an undisputable fact that leadership has many important attributes. However, some people are of the opinion that intelligence is the foremost characteristic of any leader. This discourse will examine some reasons why I totally agree with this. For one, being quick-witted allows those at the helm of affairs evaluate the opinions of others and place them strategically in the plans of any organisation, otherwise the inputs of the disciple might not be considered at all or used wrongly. This,in turn,boosts the morale of the follower and makes for better efficiency, thereby bringing the leader and the team to the spotlight. For example, during the 2020 protest that rocked Nigeria, it was the ingenuity of the captains that assisted them in recognising brilliant ideas put forward by some of the participants, thus leading to its effective coordination and the strong impact it had on subsequent policies of the government. Hence, the value of a clever leader cannot be overemphasized. In addition,it is only leaders who are insightful that are capable of identifying and capitalising on the strength of their team. They are able to leverage on their strengths and downplay their weaknesses in order to achieve their goals. As an illustration, A survey conducted in 2018 by the world management institute revealed that it was only intelligent leaders that were able to build on the capabilities of their subordinates to meet organisational objectives. Therefore, ingenious leaders have proved to be highly effective and productive. To conclude, being intelligent is the most important trait of any leader as it affords them the opportunity of building on the capabilities of their followers and taking their opinions into consideration.