Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods. To what extent do the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

The fact that food is an inseparable part of our life is obvious to all. In the contemporary era, large amount of time and energy must be considered to transport foods from farmland to customers. It is thought that one of the best ways to tackle this problem is that people consume foods produced by local farmers which is good for both economy and environment. In my perspective, it is not a good idea. On the one hand, purchasing locally made products are much cheaper than other materials. To clarify, there is no need to dedicate additional budget on transportation of these goods resulting in dwindling the total price. For instance, in my vicinity, dairy products like milk and yogurt are really affordable compared to those coming from tens of miles away. On the other hand, it is not possible for farmers to cultivate all sorts of foods. This is because each seed needs its especial situation to be grown up and no one dares to deny the importance of suitable water, farmable soil and enough sunlight for this purpose but they vary for various plants. Moreover, so seriously has posing a threat to the economic condition of some farmers, who selling Change the form of the verb sell show examples their products to buyers far from their lands is the only source of income, affected many peoples point of attitude that they strongly believe that procuring food solely from the local is not a wise opinion. Hence, this suggestion is not profitable. In conclusion, although it is economical to purchase locally produced foods, underestimating this fact that all fruits and vegetables cannot be cultivated in all lands in addition to putting some farmers in a monetary trouble is not logical. Therefore, in my viewpoint, the cons outweigh the pros. 291 words / 57 min