The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Since online service is becoming more and more popular because of the technological development. People can easily deal with a lot of personal business on website or app, on the other hand they give their own personal information to internet companies and organizations for exchanging. In my opinion, there are disadvantages for internet companies and organizations gather information of many individuals and I will discuss in the essay. Firstly, although it is convenient for people to skip the step typing their personal information when they use the same website, it is dangerous if internet companies or organizations don’t pay too much attention internet security. Hence, the personal information would be easily reached by hack due to the weak internet security. For example, there are a lot of fraud happened because of the shopping website exposed the information that buyer gave. The liar would contact buyers and describe their information to gain their trust and lead them to transfer money. Secondly, another important issue is that gathering personal information can illustrate one’s preferences. When those large internet companies and organizations have the competence to know people’s preferences, it might be dangerous that they start to influence people’s perspective. For instance, the Cambridge Analytic Company are sued by they use the information to illustrate different group of electors and give the advertisement they interested in to influence their willingness about what to vote. In conclusion, I believe that the large internet company and organizations gather much personal information is danger if they don’t emphasize the internet security and set the principle about the usage.