Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for companies and organizations.

In recent decades, the majority of people prefer to run their own business, not work for companies. This essay will discuss the reasons of this decision and drawbacks of self-employed. On the one hand, being reluctant to work for others has some rational reasons. For example, despite the fact that having a 9 to 5 office jobs offers a fixed monthly salary and some perks, it does not have flexible hours and employees cannot have work-life balance as they are trapped in a flexible timetable. Moreover, there might not be a quick promotion prospects and stuff have to circle around themselves and do some monotonous tasks. Thus, some of them may think that it isn't worth wasting a lot of precious time even if the job provides them with a reasonable job security. On the other hand, despite several advantages that being self-employed has, it might have a few detrimental implications. One of the main drawbacks is that running a business has a risk of failure and bankruptcy. By way of example, one of my friends went bankrupt and loss a great deal of money when he could not meet the depts of a number of big companies. Consequently, he ended up depression and nervous breakdown. Also, sometimes failures might be the result of the lack of trying to use some methods to attract a target market or finding a way to sets your business apart from others. Another downside of being your own bosses is that, you might have to bear a heavy work load and be occupied and are not able to allocate time for your family and friends. In conclusion, both be employed by an organization or a company, and be employed by yourself have some adverse influences and it depends on individuals' preferences to have the capacity of tolerating which one.