There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that students should only focus on academic subjects in order to get high grades. Because of this, others believe that non-academic subjects should be removed. Personally, I disagree with these notions, I think every student need to study sports or paint. The first reason why I believe that non-academic subjects are needed because the purpose of this lesson is to boost a student's skills. Schools require to help pupils to find their passions with experienced teachers and proper facilities that they can not get from their homes. From this action, many of them are able to attend some good competitions that are totally useful. Furthermore, most of them prefer to learn any kind of sports rather than sitting at a classroom. For instance, a recent study shown that many professional athletes came from school that had many clubs such as basketball and badminton. In addition, if students had extreme pressure on academic achievement, it could make them feel stress. Besides this, in terms of employment, if there were no more physical subjects, the rate of unemployment would be increasing. The reason is because of many professional professions begin to seek jobs in schools since some of them are hardly to get. To illustrate, research in 2011 revealed that more than 15% of people who graduates from physical major decided to switch careers to be a teacher. In conclusion, I highly disagree with the idea that non-academic subjects should be removed then focusing on academics because it leads to the impacts for students mental health and people's income.