Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous processed foods and beverages have high sugar content, leading to more people suffering from health issues such as diabetes. To solve this problem, some believe that it is crucial to heighten the price of products containing high level of sugar, which will lessen the amount of sugar being consumed by individuals. This passage discusses why it is a good idea to do so. If this idea were about to be implemented, it is going to take a long time to finally be implemented optimally. Many producing companies have measured the cost and price that is suitable for their products, which might be difficult for them if this regulation is going to be applied. Another problem that might arise is the impact that might happen to low-income individuals. For instance, in some countries, soda is one of the cheapest beverages someone can buy while also providing those who consume it with energy from sugar, which is one of the reasons why many people buy it, especially those with low income. However, there are many advantages that also need to be considered. The first one being health improvements of the people. The heightened price of these products also means that people are going to buy foods and beverages that are cheaper, when compared to processed products. This will encourage individuals to also understand the importance of eating healthier food, which hopefully will be cheaper compared to unhealthy food. As an example, people who are used to buy high sugar level drinks are hoped to be drinking more water or homemade juice which will be cheaper in price. These reasons will hopefully be the reasons why people switch to a healthier lifestyle in the future. All in all, marking up the price of foods and beverages containing high level of sugar is expected to have more positive changes to the society as it will help individuals to have a healthier diet.