The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Annual driving license is required for drivers as some people argue that it is the best method to increase the safety in transporting goods. This essay disagrees with this argument because it is neither efficient nor a substantial solution. The Main reason for disagreement is far from efficiency in taking a yearly test for drivers. It seems irrational to conduct it because the bill paid to the license authorities is too expensive, experiencing an unbalance to the expected output. Hardly do people imagine the total amount prepared to undergo that burdensome assessment, especially for the low economic families, which the test takers must spend Rp. 150,000 as an example in Indonesia. The expense also underlies the entire sophisticated technical preparation done by the Police. The higher the frequency to get the license, the more money must be spent by the government and the citizens. Another empirical reason underlying this argument is that the annual average skill of transporters is not a raw problem risking the security of goods. As researchers said, scarcely do the capability in driving vehicles change in the period of a year. However, the drivers generally are able to sustain their expertise to utilize many vehicles for more than 15 years. For example, a survey from the Department of Transportation in the governorate of East Java concluded that among 47 of 50 drivers can maintain their stability to drive throughout their adolescence and adulthood. It means that never is retaking those kinds of procedures as argued be a viable solution. To conclude, taking a driving test each year is not the best way to make the road transport of goods safer. This writing stays in the disagreement of the topic in term of efficiency and its accuracy to solve the problems.