Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The music industry has changed vastly since the golden days of Beethoven and Mozart. With the rapid growth of the internet and smartphones, listening to music has become easier than ever. Instead of having to attend concerts, listeners can just plug their headphones into a smartphone and listen to music online. While this has its fair share of benefits, record labels have been hesitant to expand into the online music industry since it has various drawbacks, including piracy issues and monetization. In this essay, I will discuss the aforementioned issues as well as giving my own opinion. On one hand, the explosive growth of online music websites has made it exponentially harder for record labels and artists to control and monetize their work. These people are concerned that as the internet music industry grows, so do the piracy issues. This may cause everyone to copy each other, making music seem unoriginal and uninterested. It can also discourage artists to produce and release music, as there are no ways for them to ensure that their music is being used as they intended as well as controlling where their works are being published. Overall, illegal Internet downloads can have negative effects on the artists and the music industry as a whole. On the other hand, having the ability to publish music on the internet - where millions of users are actively using and discussing every day - has helped new artists get discovered and grow. Moreover, the growth of music piracy has pushed streaming platforms to take extra steps to prevent illegal downloads. It's not hard to understand why in the early 2000s, record labels and artists were trying to take down music streaming platforms that were allowing users to download music freely and distribute it wherever they please. The most notable case of this is perhaps Napster, as this platform was taken down after a huge wave of protests to protect the rights of composers. Because of this, most streaming platforms like Spotify and Apple Music include features that help artists control their music distribution and monetization. Therefore, it's almost impossible to pirate music now, unlike in the 2000s. To summarize, illegal Internet downloads can and have caused a ton of issues regarding piracy and monetization, but they helped push the development of tools to ensure these issues never happen again. Therefore, it's safe to say that illegal downloads aren't an issue in the modern world.