Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Exams are essential for the assessment of a student's academic abilities. Throughout history, exams have played a significant role as a reliable method of classifying students to their respective levels, as well as a way for learners to track their performance. However, more and more people are calling for a stop to exams as they generally put a lot of pressure on learners and may not accurately show the students ' real academic abilities. This essay will discuss the two sides of this argument, as well as provide a personal opinion on exams. On one hand, exams have been used for hundreds of years and are a trustable method of identifying learners ' abilities and performance. They are used widely by schools and universities, and even companies. Out of the various ways to judge students ' levels, exams are superior to their peers since it forces learners to study for the test, and while other methods like tracking students ' progress through daily performance in class have been proven to be somewhat effective, they don' t tell the full story and often fail to know if the learners ' are understanding the lessons or not - something that exams can achieve with ease. A student that stays quiet in class doesn' t necessarily mean they don' t fully grasp the lessons, but a student with low exam scores almost always indicates that they are not understanding what they're being taught. On the other hand, if exams aren' t used correctly by teachers, they can do more harm than good. It has been scientifically proven that too many tests a week can cause students to be pressured so hard, they often lead to depression since the learners have to study very hard to achieve good scores on tests. Oftentimes, parents are the ones putting the pressure on the students, as they want their children to perform well on tests to have a stable foundation for their future since companies will often judge you based on your academic performance. In conclusion, exams can be an effective way of measuring a student's academic ability, but if used incorrectly, they can lead to students getting pressured to achieve good scores.