Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than work for a company or organisation. Why is this the case ? What are the disadvantages?

In recent times, more individuals are opting for self-employment instead of working for a corporation. This is because it provides the person with more freedom with decisions regarding their work life, however, it also means that they cannot experience the stability that a company offers. Being their own boss permits people to dictate the terms of their employment. As a result, they are free to determine their salary, working hours, who they work with and approach jobs in a manner they prefer. For example, Microsoft offers a set salary with certain working hours according to company policy that each employee must follow. Most corporations provide a certain degree of security. Thus, regardless of how slow business may be, the workers can be assured that wages will be paid when the time comes. This is not always the case with self-run businesses. For instance, although Starbucks is currently experiencing a reduction in sales, the employees are still guaranteed a pay check at the end of the month. In conclusion, self-employment allows the person to establish how they choose to operate their organisation but it is quite risky as it means they do not have the reliability that a company can provide