There are many inventions in human history, but some people think that the most important invention is the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe the vital turning point in history was the invention of the lightbulb or electricity. However, it is plain to see the internet has changed our way of life as human beings and has offered us a future full of opportunities. In this essay, I will explore how Bill Gates' discovery in the 1970's has led to a digital revolution benefitting our world and education in a variety of ways - both in a positive and negative way. First of all, the development of the web has led to better forms of education. As a teacher, I have been fortunate enough to use digital whiteboards that hook up to my personal work laptop in the classroom. Due to wifi, we have access to online lesson plans, can message other teachers for help if something goes wrong in our own classroom and can instantly look up answers to questions students might have in the middle of a lesson. It has changed the way we teach and has led to an even brighter future with the use of AI in schools. We now can put on a film to showcase the visual beauty of a novel, introduce concepts that would otherwise be confusing through online games and increase active learning activities through computers. However, the use of the internet has also caused pupils to become dependent on their phones in education. You can often see children trying to check their Snapchat during class, use it to text their friends or even record a teacher when they feel the educator is doing something wrong. This has led to a fear in our professional field and a new terror that evidence from a kid's phone can be used against them to get them fired, or worse, banned from teaching altogether. It also means youngsters are struggling to focus when in a seat and often don't believe our paper based examinations and textbooks have any relevance to their new digital world. So it's clear the internet could also be used to harm education and could make teachers' livelihoods eventually obselete. Is it well known that educating the youth already comes with many obstacles. However, the digital world is very hard to pinpoint as something that will benefit or hurt our profession. We have loved using this device to broaden the minds of those we are instilling our knowledge with, but we are also very weary of the effects it is having on the focus of children and the safeguarding of our careers. We can also predict that teaching itself might not be a career path in a couple years - as it has been mentioned throughout the world that AI robots could take over our skills and manage children in a room better than we ever could. Therefore, the internet might have been the best invention in history, but it is a double edged sword for educators of the future.