Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Criticisms are concerned that children will be endangered if they are given freedom of choice, while others believe that they will be better equipped to handle consequences in the future of their acts if given such freedom. From my perspective, I opine that children should be allowed to make their own decisions about personal matters. On the one hand, complying with all the wishes of children every day may result in them forming the habit of selfishness. This is because when allowed to choose whatever they want to eat or wear on a daily basis, they may become accustomed to not caring about other people’s preferences when making a decision. Several researchers have detected that these children have more capable self-decisions, and it is more likely not to follow their parent’s rules, and expectations. Besides, they do not life foundation or experiences to make some true choices so children will certainly make silly mistakes if they do not pay attention to their parent’s instructions. Eventually, this habit will stay with them as they grow up, creating a selfish society. On the other hand, children who are given the freedom to choose for themselves become more confident in the long run, and their decision-making ability is enhanced. Firstly, this will help them when they become adults and enable them to lead independent lives. Specifically, if their parents train them to care for themselves, they will be able to make good decisions and prioritize what is most important to them. Secondly, children should learn for themselves what is wrong and right, and they need to demonstrate their personalities. This helps children learn to make ethical decisions when they are adults. Finally, children will be prepared more well to exact responses when meeting challenge cases. In conclusion, I have determined that it is crucial for kids to be able to choose their everyday activities since it helps them become more autonomous. This is true even if it means that society will be full of self-centered people.