Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The post-modern era has created many sophisticated information technology; hence, people can conduct their work out of their workplaces. Even thought the aforementioned phenomenon may lead to two drawbacks related to abominable social behaviour and miserable failure in their communications, I strongly believe that the issue offers more advantages that may intensely bring effectiveness and thriftiness. Information technology can lead to an antisocial behavior. This mental issue often influences how people act in their daily lives. For instance, employees in Jakarta which have work from home environment usually have difficulties to migle with others because they are not accustomed to socialize with people. As a consequence, their mental health is affected which often decrease their performances. It results in their absence because they have to visit their psychologists. Additionally, working from home may distract their communication. Because they communicate with online tools, such as Zoom and Google Meet, they often miss understand about the topic of the meeting due to the internet connection or unmatched schedule. On the other hand, the phenomenon may drain several advantages. Firstly, work from home can be the best solution for the effectiveness in the company. Several company in Jakarta are reported to have less time to have meeting rather than common method. As a result, they can make conscious bussiness decision faster than casual companies. Therefore, their companies have better financial reports which congruent with their growth. Secondly, employees may also take frugal living behaviour as a side effect of work from home. Because they do not have to spend money on transportation and food, they can save their money to the urgent one, such as health and entertainment. In conclusion, the antimony of working outside the office surely have contradictions. Although the phenomenon have several disadvantages, I consciously believe that the benefits of it outweighs the drawbacks.