Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

In this state-of-the-art era, the development of technology can be useful and harmful, connecting and dividing. This advancement has influenced the conventional ways of working because people are able to work from everywhere. This essay will elaborate on the merits and demerits of such development and show how the negative points outweigh the positive ones. On the one hand, the new idea of working from anywhere (WFA) may affect the social aspects among the employees. This is due to the fact that technology changed the way of meeting in person into virtual one, confining them from social activities like face-to-face interactions. Not only do sophisticated meeting tools limit opportunities to meet directly, but also hinder them to create a tight-knit relationship with their colleagues. Beyond this shortcoming, WFA trend might also reduce the effectiveness of working, if done while travelling or doing other activities. Multitasking, for instance, can overwhelm people owing to the high intensity of their work. On the other hand, digital thriving can bring myriad benefits for both employees and employers. Firstly, the flexibility of working environment will maximize workers’ duties as they can work from their comfort places. Secondly, remote working can be beneficial in urgent condition. To illustrate, employers who need an immediate meeting do not need to meet their co-workers in office, thereby improving time efficiency. Indeed, these circumstances might offer people with a great flexibility, but, these can cause multitasking activities which exceptionally influence the work results. In conclusion, although working from anywhere will be beneficial to create desired working environment for the workers, I believe that these phenomena may result in less compatible team work and ineffectiveness of work. Hence, I believe the drawbacks surpass the benefits.