Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individuals do?

Natural exploitation, use of chemicals, and unmanageable waste are some ways humans damage the environment. However, instead of putting blame on each other, governments, communities, and public at large could work together to reduce and minimise further harms they collectively cause. As public servants, the government has the responsibility to maintain the sustainability of natural habitats as everyone’s livelihood depends on it. As such, the government can introduce laws in favour of the environment and enforce them. For instance, in terms of exploitation, government should protect habitats and territories at risk of extinction while punishing illegal logging or poaching to prevent future or recurrent acts. Similarly, in chemical and waste fronts, policies that require producers of waste to pay fee equal to their emission output could be imposed. Ultimately, the government ’s role is to gatekeep activities considered harmful. Meanwhile, individuals could begin with living modestly and responsibly. Some easy contributions include not using straws when drinking, reducing electrical usage, using recyclable products, and preferring public transportation. Moreover, should they require other methods to channel their deeds, they could participate in community works in accordance with their own expertise and interest. There are myriad options of environmental-related community works, ranging from replanting deforested areas, cleaning rivers and gutters from waste, and being involved in advocating lesser plastic usage. In conclusion, government support, along with collective efforts from the public at both societal and individual level, could significantly tackle the harms humans have caused the planet – even to the point of reversing them.