Many people think that the government should not restrict what people say in public media as it is part of freedom of speech. To what extent do you agree to this statement?

Many people believe that, freedom of speech will be established when the sayings of people in public media will not be interfered by the state. I personally agree with this viewpoint, because freedom of speech is one of the democratic rights of the people and for the sake of the country, the thoughts and speech of people need to be expressed. On the one hand, it is the right of the people to talk about their feelings, thoughts and desires because a democratic country commits that. Therefore, the government will mitigate the opportunity of expression of the citizens if they decide what people should say in public media and what should not. In Bangladesh, for example, the government restricted the speech of people in 2019 through the "Digital Security Act" which is actually refraining people from speaking their hearts in the public media. Consequently, it is breaching the freedom of speech of people and violating democratic rights. On the other hand, it is imperative that, public media is a useful means of communication and one of the best ways of expressing public feelings. It is essential to circulate and broadcast public feelings in media because public media are actually the mirror of the society as well as the country. Public opinion is required for numerous reasons such as learning about public well-being, economic development, and social justice. If it is restricted, the actual conditions of a country will not be exposed and analysed which will not be beneficial for the country's development. In Uganda, the restriction of public opinion has threatened the social and economic development of the country. In conclusion, freedom of speech should be ensured not only to establish democracy but also it is needed for the betterment of the country.