Write about the following topic: In the past, everyone wore clothes according to their culture, but now people wear similar clothes all around the world. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

These days, it becomes less common to wear traditional clothes as they are considered to be irrelevant and outdated. Some people believe that this trend negatively affects society as individuals are losing their sense of identity. I truly agree with the latter opinion, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, traditional elements and ornaments in clothes lead to the connectivity to the culture. Hence, wearing cultural dresses demonstrates the respect and belonging to the ancestors who contributed to build their cultural background a long time ago. For example, in Russia, some small isolated communities still utilise traditional costumes for spiritual events to value the heritage and connect to their roots. As a result, these activities lead to the expression of pride and recognition of the cultural identity. Another importnat factor correlating to wearing ethnic clothes is individuality and uniqueness. As fashion became uninteresting making people similar to each other, following old traditional styles causes individuals looking more bright and unique. Take, Zankov, for example, a controversial and sensational fashion designer creating utopian patterns in clothes to demonstrate the similarity in fashion nowadays. Consequently, combination of traditional and modern patterns contribute to individual styles and appearance. In conclusion, the excessive usage of mass market items results in the lack of identity and individuality. Promoting traditional clothes helps human beings find their connection to their culture expressing their own individual features.