The use of social media such as Twitter and Facebook is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in their everyday life. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has started to announce their domination in this globalization era, challenging the face-to-face interaction people usually had in the past. Many people believe the existence of social media such as Twitter and Facebook gives better advantages, while some might argue on the downsides of it. In this essay, I will elucidate on why the benefits of social media outweighs the drawbacks. To begin with, social media has been assisting us to link with many other people on the internet and search for real-time information. For instance, to find and socialize with someone new is getting easier through the Facebook's search engine. Socializing is exactly what we need in a world depended on global collaboration. In addition, broadening up the circle of networks through chatroom provided by each platforms will also reduce the hassle of having to meet directly. Furthermore, it is very evident that social media like Twitter, often provide us a more real-time news than a newspaper can, which ease the job of many people in this world. In the end, as we enter the Internet of Things era, the society also pushes us to maximize the use of social media. On the other hand, risks will always come along. Spreadness of hoax has been the main issue of social media eclectic use. For instance, a real-time information spread easily through lot of parties, where a pinch of discrepancy from every person can lead to a vast misleading information in the end. Hence, the government has countless attempts in creating policies to tackle this one specific obstacle, such as the UU ITE policy from Indonesia government. Consequently, we must pay a better attention to the spread of information on the internet. In conclusion, social media is very fruitful in threading networks and collaborations. Although, hoax has became one of the biggest issue, there is no other innovation which bring bigger benefit than the social media.