In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In a world where technology is starting to take over the media industry and the rise of the internet, such printed items are slowly being replaced by a single device that provides everything we need to obtain information. With the ongoing debate whether people will abandon physical items with digitized versions of it, newspapers and books will no longer be relevant to them because they could access it anytime for free. Although I agree to an extent that we are slowly reducing the amount of damage to the environment in printing them, I believe that the creators should be credited more for their work by funding them. On one hand, it is a good idea to stop consuming printed media, for it will help us in saving the environment. Additionally, it is more convenient to have everything in one item and access it anytime in order to catch up with their own pace. Thus, replacing them into one device would be a sustainable move for everyone to save the environment and make it more convenient for anyone. Even though it is a good idea that everyone has the accessibility to obtain free news and literature online, it is rather unfair to the authors. Their work should be paid instead of publishing it online for free because that is one of their sources of income. Therefore, some works should be purchased before they read it even if it is online. To conclude, though I agree to an extent that online media is a new platform for the future of newspapers and books, I believe that the creators should be paid as well instead of letting their works be read for free.