A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

In recent times, the most serious obstacle which many countries are dealing with is water scarce. This has been increasing significantly since 1950. This essay will examine the problems in detail and propose some solutions. One of the main causes of the problem is the growing demand for water. This is because the number of people has increased dramatically, which means the use of water for drinking, washing and other household has raised as well. The solution for the government is to raise the tax on water, so that people would use it more carefully. For instance, in western sociaties the price of it is extremely high. Another cause of the issue can be the climate change. The reason is that there is a lot of carbon doixide and gass which factories produce, and these can contribute the global warming. As a result, it leads to drought and floods in some places. To tackle this problem, government must increase the green space to prevent this. A third major cause of issue is the use of this liquid in agriculture. About 70 per cent of the fresh water is consumed in farming places, which means most of this liquid is wasted. The way forward can be to improve sewage system and infrastructures in order to stop this. In USA and Germany the precentage of this is so much lower than other nations, because of modern infrastructures they have. In conclusion, this obstacle has been growin, and there are some main reasons for it. However there are some effective methods to prevent this from getting worsened. In my view, both government and people play an important role. This means they can alleviate it by consuming less water and good management.