In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our contemporary society, there are always a few people who have extremely high income in some countries. Some people opine that this phenomenon has positive impact on a country, but some people think that the government should control the income and set a limit on the income that one can earn. This essay will examine both views and will discuss why I am of the view that government should not limit the amount people can earn. On one hand, the rich will become richer and the poor will become poorer, if the government does not intervene. Without setting any upper limit on the income, the rich will continue to grow their 'empire' through their investment portfolios. Those multi-billionnaires make up of less than 1% of the world's population, but nearly half of the world's wealth is owned by them, highlighting the issue of global inequality. The rich can easily dominate the world's economy, including share's market and property's market. On the other hand, we live in a world with emphasis on human rights and freedom. The rich has their rights and should have their rights to earn money as much as they want. They too, sacrifice their time and they normally work harder than anyone else to reach where they are today. Government has no rights to tell them they cannot earn more money if they are capable to do so. Furthermore, a lot of the high income earners actually did a lot of charity work and contribute back to the society. For example, the Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and Tesla founder, Elon Musk, they donated substantial funds to charity and research to improve human's quality of life and to cure life-threatening diseases. It is therefore, in my view, government should not limit the amount people can earn. This is because the government has no rights to do so and the high income earners work hard to achieve everything they have today. Government should instead, work on policies and budgets that can help to improve the poor's quality of life.