Countries spends large amount of money on sports competitions. Do you think the advantades outweight the disadvantages.

The phenomenon of countries ' huge expenses for sports competitions has brought various advantages and disadvantages. From my perspective, the drawbacks have exceeded the benefits. To begin with, the improvement of athletes' commitment and grit to the nation can be an obvious advantage. For instance, most of the countries will have funds allocated for athletes' who are able to get medals in well-known sports competitions, such as Olympic and regional competitions. Thus, increasing their ambition to bring glory to the nation. Secondly, the huge amount of expenses can be a great factor in proving the countries ' existence in the international sports arena. As they will be viewed as big players. On the other hand, the problems that arise bring more harm than good. As a starter, for some unresponsible parties, this can be a huge opportunity to do corruption. For instance, a few developing countries often faced this problem with most of the perpetrators got away easily due to lenient laws. The other disadvantage is in the long run, it will greatly impact the country as a whole, and citizens will be the most vulnerable. Especially if the money comes from debtors who include interest, the possibility of not paying it on time can be high. Furthermore, the country can go bankrupt due to it. In conclusion, the disadvantages of spending humongous money on sports competitions bring various drawbacks, including corruption and bankruptcy. Those clearly outweigh the benefits that could be brought.