In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In our contemporary era, technology advancement and invention have improved human quality of life. One of the recent inventions is car without driver. It is predicted that all cars, buses and trucks will be controlled by the artificial intelligence (AI) in the future, and 'driverless'. In my opinion, the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, we question the AI or machine sometime as to how much we can trust them. We heard stories about machine malfunctioned and caused fatal accidents. For example, if the car only has a passenger who does not know how to drive, he or she basically intrusts his or her life completely to the AI. If there is any accident due to an error, noone can prevent and save the passenger's life other than the AI. On the other hand, I believe that the abovementioned error can be prevented through regular maintanance and advance technology. Take flight as an example, human have been using auto-piloting for years and it is indeed beneficial to us. The AI nowadays is smarter than human. Statistically, they can even drive more carefully and foresee potential danger more accurately as compared to human. Moreover, driving cars, buses and trucks without drivers will help tremendously in driving long distance. This is because drivers normally need to stop to rest after few hours of driving but AI does not need to do so. Driverless will also allow the companies to save cost since manpower is getting more and more expensive nowadays. In conclusion, I am of the view that 'driverless' will bring more advantages than its disadvantages. This invention will ultimately improve human quality of life and save cost in different aspects.