Smart phones and other similar electronic gadgets have reduced the contact between friends. Discuss how far you agree with this statement.

There is an argument that smart phones such as iPhone's and Galaxy's have decreased the communication between friends. I totally disagree with this statement, because mobile phones and similar electronic devices are offering social media platforms and phone call opportunities which provides a great environment to contact with other people. There are different variations of social media platforms that enable to interact with strangers and close friends or even celebrities. These applications provide a digital infrastructure to simulate real life interactions, and therefore, people can speak and send a message to others in a few seconds. With the help of this quick interaction, people can speak more often with their friends. To illustrate this, Instagram users are sending a lot of videos and photographs to their friends and they can discuss different digital materials with their contacts on this application. The other gift of smart phones are offering is instant phone calls which eases to talk or ask something without a face-to-face interaction. Many people prefer these kinds of interactions because people do not have to prepare to go to outside to talk with someone, and they can easily ask their urgent situations. For example, in the UK a person interact more than a hundred people through these phone calls which is extremely hard to interact this number of people in rural places, and most people admit that they can easily speak with their friends with the help of phone calls without meeting in a cafe. In conclusion, phone calls and social media platforms are different features of smart phones and similar devices, and I believe, these opportunities improve the communication between friends.