several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. some people say that government should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, English is extensively replacing the role of local languages in the curriculum in many countries. Therefore, many concerns have arisen that these local tongues are under the threat of extinction. Although the importance of teaching English is quite high, governments around the world should ensure safety of local languages by implementing policies that would encourage native population to learn their native tongue. The role of English in the modern world has become extremely essential for people to learn because it gives an immeasurable amount of information and access to anything. This is due to the fact that all sources of media distribute information mainly in English. As a result, more and more people have started to prioritize learning it in the expense of their mother tongue. For example, many countries in the developed world inserted English as an obligatory subject at school. Nevertheless, local languages should prioritized as they represent customs and the culture of the nation and they help to keep national identity in this era of globalization, where cultures have started to merge together. Therefore, countries should implement various policies, which regard education and cultural development. Such policies would entice population to develop the nation identity in some ways, such as music, poems, books etc. For instance, one similar policy was implemented in Congo, where local population did not know its mother tongue, after the implementation of the policy their language was reborn. In conclusion, the significance of studying English cannot be underestimated and everyone should learn it for their own benefit. However, the survival of other languages should be ensured as they preserve customs and cultures.