Some people think that intelligence is innate, while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people contend that intelligence is innate, while others hold a diametrically opposing view and opine that one can strenghthen our intelligence through learning. This essay will examine both views and will weigh up its merits. On one hand, some argue that intelligence is innate. The obvious example will be someone is gifted in their own spheres such as maths, physics, music or sports. We have heard news reporting some extremely young genius won the world-wide maths competition, or some talented children completed university when their peers were just started secondary schools. All these facts are the solid proof of intelligence is innate. However, we must always bear in mind that those genious who succeeded at a very young age, they, too, went through a lot of practices and trainings before reaching where they are today. Therefore, I support the saying that intelligence is innate, but I also trust that one can improve his or her intelligence through learning. This is because 'practice makes perfect'. Take maths as an example, if a student is interested in maths but he is not good at it, he can still excel it if he practices harder and does not give up. I believe determination is always the key to success. Some sportmen might not show any talent when they started training, but through constant practices, they could even perform better than those who were talented. In conclusion, I agree that intelligence is innate based on the examples given above. However, I also believe that we can improve our intelligence through learning simply because practice makes perfect and determination is the key to success.