The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The environmental problems such as climate change and rising carbon emissions have infiltrated almost every aspect of our life. The question of whether the rise of gasoline price is the best way to tackle with growing concerns over the environment has sparked a heated argument among the environmentalists. It is my own contention that there are dozens of more pragmatic solutions that can generate payback that can overshadow the benefits of the solution that soars the fuel prices. First and foremost, the global warming, pollution, deforestation and overpopulation are the most concerning existing problems that are fueled by distinctive reasons. I think, by raising the fuel prices, a majority of economically disadvantagous disadvantaged people will be pushed towards cheaper alternatives like diesel, which can even exacerbate the exhaust emissions. To illustrate, increasing the price of fuel without decreasing the price of electricity vehicles and establishing a sustainable public transporation infrastructure is not a feasible measure to implement. Additionally, even if it does have the supplementary measures as well, this can solely account for about 3% reduction in the total amount of emissions. Moreover, having multiple factors affecting the environment today, I believe that overpopulation is the worst out of all culprits available. Owing to the overpopulation, the dynamics of the world has got worsen over the years, resulting in higher carbon recordings, plastic waste pollution, deforestation, loss of biodiversity, depletion of natural resources and meltinc ice caps. Therefore, it is utterly important to regulate the uncontrolled birth-rates in countries with high fertility recordings. For example, almost all of the above mentioned porblems are caused by humans, therefore, the number of people should remain unchanged in order to ensure the survival of our species throughout the difficult times that are awaiting us in the future. In conclusion, it is worth emphasizing that by increasing the value of gas price to a certain degree there will be a negligble impact on the present global problems, frusturating its proponents. Nevertheless, in my idea, we should be gravitated towards other alternatives such as controlling the human population so that our finite resources can wisely be incurred on the best solution.