art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art holds a pivotal part in a culture as a means to expose such societies to the world. One of the ways to preserve art is by teaching it to the younger generation. I believe that it is important to merge art subject in education curriculum so long as it does not overshadow the more practical lessons that should be learned by children. To start with, due to globalization, cultures are highly dependent on art to sustain their existence in society. For example, many Indonesian cultures are still around until today owing to the promotion of its performance activities, such as traditional dances and puppet shows. Through arts, not only this tradition can survive, but it also can be preserved. Furthermore, art is an effective measure for kids to understand more about their cultural background, which encouraged the legislators to add art subject to the education curriculum. Subsequently, youngsters are able develop the sense of patriotism for their nation and also contribute to the promotion of their culture through arts. Other than that, kids’ mental health can also benefit from the lessons of art in school as it may balance the academical pressure experienced by students with a more enjoyable activity. Although it is highly impactful, there are subjects other than arts that are also urgent to be taught to children. For instance, social science can aid kids with a comprehensive knowledge about society. Moreover, as these subjects are closely intertwined with arts, they then can also help highlighting the importance of such arts to the pupils. In other words, the context of art, in which is also important to be understood by people, can only be derived from other subjects outside art lessons, In conclusion, while it is beneficial to encourage children to try arts in school, art should be learned altogether with other subjects because it can only be meaningful when balanced with other subjects.