Scientists have been warning for many years about protecting the environment and that people must limit the use of energy in their daily lives. Despite warnings, many people do not do so. What are the reasons for this and how can people be encouraged to protect the environment?

It has been known for a long time that human beings need to limit everyday energy use and that environment needs to be protected. However, it is also a fact that very few people actually take steps to improve the situation. There are several reasons behind this, but if proper measures are taken this situation can be rectified. There are many factors responsible for the indifference towards the environment among people. To begin with, people are accustomed to the luxuries of life and it is very hard to switch back to a simpler life. For example, it is certainly impossible to go back to washing clothes by hand or to live without air conditioners or cars today. In other words, people are not willing to make the changes because they prioritize their comforts over the environment. Another reason is that people consider that their individual action would not make a big difference. In other words, people think that environmental issues are too big to be resolved at the individual level and the only way to address these issues is at the government level. Finally, some people are also of the opinion that environmentalists are exaggerating the consequences of climate change and global warming. They trust science to find them the solutions to these issues. Despite all these reasons, I still believe that many people can be encouraged to take steps. Firstly, the government can implement strict rules and regulations, which would ensure energy efficiency in homes or use of renewable energy in homes. For example, many local governments pass large new residential building plans only if the plan incorporates solar rooftop panels. The second measure that governments from around the world can do is penalizing wastage or excessive use of energy by very high rates. Nothing would prompt a bigger reaction than a hit at people ’s pockets. In conclusion, there are many reasons for people not taking steps to safeguard the environment and to cut down their energy use. However, I still believe that a lot of people can still be motivated to mend their ways.